Victorian Curriculum

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 sets out what every student should learn during their first eleven years of schooling. The curriculum is the common set of knowledge and skills required by students for life-long learning, social development and active and informed citizenship.  It defines what it is that all students have the opportunity to learn as a result of their schooling, set out as a series of learning progressions.

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 sets out a single, coherent and comprehensive set of content descriptions and associated achievement standards to enable teachers to plan, monitor, assess and report on the learning achievement of every student.

The Victorian Curriculum F–10 includes eight learning areas and four capabilities. The learning areas of the Arts, Humanities and Technologies include distinct disciplines. The capabilities represent sets of knowledge and skills that are developed and applied across the curriculum. 

The design of the Victorian Curriculum F–10 is set out below:

Learning areas 

  • The Arts (Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music, Visual Arts, Visual Communication Design)
  • English
  • Health and Physical Education
  • The Humanities (Civics and Citizenship, Economics and Business, Geography, History)
  • Languages
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technologies (Design and Technologies, Digital Technologies)    
  • Capabilities (Critical and Creative Thinking, Ethical, Intercultural and Personal and Social)

The Victorian Curriculum takes into account the developmental stages of learning young people experience at school. Whilst student learning is a continuum and different students develop at different rates, they broadly progress through three stage of learning:

Prep to Yr. 4 – Laying the Foundations

Yrs. 5 to 8 – Building breadth and depth

Yrs. 9-10 – Developing pathways


The following link provides comprehensive information about the Victorian Curriculum: